MOMENT OF BLISS

The computer screen in front of me lit up; the hue of the flickering brightness shaking me out of my temporal sleep. My thumb had brushed across the mouse and woken me once more from oblivion. I felt a tiny smile etch on my face as I reminisced what happened the night before.
I could feel her breath on me, that’s how close she was; her head on my shoulder, her body in my arms. Our hands were wrapped in each other and her lips were as close as they ever would be without touching mine, and yet we did not kiss. Not that I didn’t want to, heaven knows I did, but I didn’t make the move.
It was the first time we had ever been that close, it was almost intimate. And I didn’t want to spoil the moment, it was blissful, almost serene.
I had turned twenty eight on the last day of June and that evening I had a night I wouldn’t forget.
I wasn’t even supposed to be in Accra that night, but a late turn of events at work meant I was needed in the capital on the morning of my birthday. It was destined to be one of the least eventful birthdays of my life; first of all nobody expected me to have been in the city on that day, and any surprises anybody had planned back in Kumasi would have been scuppered by the timing of my trip to Accra.
So, let’s say I pretty much expected nothing to happen tonight, save the compulsory bottles of beer I would have to buy my friends.
It was around 4 in the afternoon when I got the text asking me to clear my evening. It didn’t come as a total surprise to me though; my instincts knew something would definitely come up.
Ekua was the newest thing in my life, we weren’t dating, but we both knew I wanted to. We were what people would describe as “friends”; introduced to one another by a mutual friend and now we spent a lot of time talking on the Phone and chatting on WhatsApp.
A few weeks back we had been to an Ebo White play together, I must have been nervous that night because I didn’t talk much and she had noticed. She got the wrong impression that day, but I wasn’t shy, I don’t know what it was about her that got me that way.
This night had to be different…

Leave a Reply

