THE PLACE I WANT TO BE

I’m torn between that place and the other one where I want to be.
Prevented by social niceties and norms, I cannot yet say what I truly feel.
I cannot remain mute, lest my intentions not be clear, but I cannot come out lest they be misinterpreted as insincere.
I’m torn, yes I truly am, between that place and where I want to be, yes that place where many lie, but truly never want to be.
I try to be subtle, but she’s a lady she won’t budge; it’s in her nature to be discrete without so much as a gentle nudge. A nudge in the right direction, that’s all I plead, or maybe it is too early for that pointer I so desperately need.
Oh yes I’m torn, so torn between that place and where I want to be…
If thoughts could speak, you would hear me, for they scream out loud but are veiled like a shroud.
Oh that place I so long to be, I see it in my mind as clear as the blue sea; so calm yet treacherous.
I’m torn between that place and the other one where I want to be…
How long will it take? I would wait for ever if need be,
but I don’t want to, this place I am is so uncomfortable; the uncertainty seeps in and drains you, leaving a feeling of…vulnerable?
Oh that place, I don’t want to be, won’t you come take a hold and release me?

Leave a Reply

